Come and discover the castle of Frœschwiller

The Eckbrecht de Durckheim family held the village of Froeschwiller as a stronghold of the Bishop of Strasbourg since the 14th century. The castle, attached to the village church, consisted of a main body flanked by two towers and outbuildings accessible by a door in a body of passage. At the back, a garden and a park. Around 1850, the castle was bought by Ferdinand de Durckheim, a cousin of the Durckheim-Montmartins, then prefect of Haut-Rhin, who had it rebuilt. It was then a large rectangular villa with a balcony supported by pillars. His son, Albert, had it transformed and enlarged again in 1890 by the architect Emanuel von Seidl, who added a large broken roof with pedimented dormers and a tower covered with a belvedere. A second residential building was erected alongside it, joined to the main building by an upstairs passage carried by a lowered arch. The outbuildings bear the coat of arms of the Durckheim family and the date of 1891. Belonging to a private owner, the castle generally opens its doors to the public only on the occasion of heritage days. It can be rented for events and receptions.



  • Less than 200 m from free public parking
See more